Fernweh – a crave for travel; being homesick for a place you’ve never been

Who knew a simple word like “fernweh” originated from the German language? I’m only joking. If you bear to be around me long enough to hear about my travel experiences, you’ll quickly realize how in love I am with all things German. After all, I’ve visited 7 cities over 4 separate trips to Germany in the past year. I’m not saying that’s an insane amount, but when I could’ve easily traveled to other places, my heart always gravitated towards Germany. I haven’t decided whether it’s due to the beautiful people, the food, the beer, or the sites. Whatever it may be, they’ve all proven worthy enough to return.

Anyway, it pains me that it’s been an entire week since I last blogged about anything. As you can imagine, life gets busy sometimes. It’s a shameful, but too true of an excuse. On top of that, my less than 2-year-old laptop has taken a turn for the worst and is currently getting a motherboard replacement. I’m hoping to get it back within the next couple of days to make blogging a bit easier. Until then, I wanted to write a little something. My post about Belgium is currently in the works. I know I keep dragging that idea along, but I promise I’ll release it as soon as possible. For now, I wanted to share with you my “fernweh” sentiments. Where do you want to go where you’ve never visited? I literally want to travel everywhere, but places that I’m dying to visit one day comprise of the following:

  1. The Amazon Rainforest
  2. The Everglades
  3. Greenland
  4. Arizona
  5. Turkey
  6. Antarctica
  7. Scotland
  8. Vietnam
  9. Tanzania
  10. Russia

If you’ve been to any of these places and have recommendations, I’d be thrilled to get your feedback.

xoxo,

Diemmy

Leave a Reply

